annually or biennially thereafter. They are permitted to volunteer for service afloat up to a maximum of six months during each period of enrolment. The period of enrolment in the Royal Canadian Naval Reserve is five years.

Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve .- The establishment of the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve is 70 officers and 930 men, distributed as follows: Halifax (half company); Saint John (half company); Charlottetown (half company); Quebec (half company); Montreal (company); Ottawa (half company); Toronto (company); Hamilton (half company); Winnipeg (company); Saskatoon (half company); Regina (half company); Edmonton (half company); Calgary (half company); Vancouver (half company); Prince Rupert (half company).

Each company or half company is under the immediate command of an officer of the R.C.N.V.R., appointed as company commanding officer. The company commanding officer is assisted by other commissioned officers of the Force.

A petty officer instructor (a highly qualified ex-petty officer of the Royal Navy or of the Royal Canadian Navy) is employed at each company headquarters to give instruction to men of the company in gunnery, torpedo practice, seamanship and other naval subjects.

Each officer and man of the R.C.N.V.R. performs annually a minimum of 30 drills of not less than one hour's duration at company headquarters. In actual practice 40 to 50 drills have been performed annually by each member of the company. Officers and men also attend from two to three weeks naval training annually at the naval bases at Halifax or Esquimalt, or at sea in H.M.C. or H.M. ships.

Officers and men who can obtain the necessary leave of absence are permitted to perform a maximum of four months voluntary service during each period of enrolment, and a large number have availed themselves of this opportunity of gaining extended naval experience under sea-going conditions. The period of enrolment and of re-enrolment in the R.C.N.V.R. is three years.

## Subsection 2.-Military Forces.

The Militia of Canada is constituted by the Militia Act. The Active Militia is divided into the Permanent and the Non-Permanent Militia.

Permanent Militia.—The Permanent Force consists of the following units:—

The strength of the Permanent Active Militia is limited by the Amending Act of 1919 to 10,000, but at present the limited establishment is less than 3,800.

Schools of Instruction .- The Canadian Small Arms School is the only school which is an independent unit of the Permanent Force, but at all stations of the Permanent Force in Canada Royal Schools of Instruction are conducted.

Cavalry.—The Royal Canadian Dragoons; Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadiane). Artillery.—The Royal Canadian Horse Artillery Brigade ("A", "B" and "C" Batteries); Royal Canadian Artillery (Nos. 1, 2 and 5 Heavy Batteries and No. 3 Medium Battery). Engineers.—Royal Canadian Engineers (13 detachments and 1 field company). Signals.—The Royal Canadian Corps of Signals. Infantry.—The Royal Canadian Regiment; Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry; The Royal 22nd Regiment (a French-Canadian regiment). Army Service Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps (12 detachments). Wedical Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Veterinary Corps (12 detachments). Veterinary Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Veterinary Corps (12 detachments). Ordnance Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Pay Corps (12 detachments). Ordnance Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Pay Corps (12 detachments). Military Cierks.—The Corps of Military Staff Cierks (12 detachments).